Laguna Seca TTXGP To Decide Fastest Electric Race Bike

Steve Rapp on the Mission R - Corkscrew - Laguna Seca - June 26, 2011

One of the biggest electric motorcycle races of year is happening this weekend at Laguna Seca. The second race of TTXGP North American series is being held in conjunction with FIM’s ePower series and the same weekend as MotoGP. Most of the highest profile and most decorated electric motorcycle race teams will be battling for some serious bragging rights of being the “fastest electric race bike”.

Last year Michael Czysz on the MotoCzysz e1pc barely beat TTXGP 2010 points leader Lightning Motors with Michael Barnes in the saddle. MotoCzysz went on to place 1st and 2nd in the 2011 TT Zero at the Isle of Man TT securing the unofficial top spot in the electric motorcycle racing ranks.

This weekend MotoCzysz will defend their status against the serious competition of Steve Atlas aboard the Brammo Empulse, Steve Rapp aboard the Mission Motors Mission R and Lightning Motors. Steve Rapp set the Laguna Seca electric motorcycle lap record earlier this year at the Refuel event but Brammo beat them out when it came to completing the most laps.

eCRP and Munch Racing made the trip across the pond to be on track battling for a spot on the podium. It seems the other bikes have them outgunned in outright horsepower but power management is a big part of electric motorcycle racing so these teams should not be counted out. The stunning eCRP 1.4 is running the proven dual Agni motor setup with Shelina Moreda in the saddle. 2010 TTXGP World Champions Munch Racing have a proven record of consistently strong finishes dating back to the 2009 TTXGP at Isle Of Man. They raced the Mountain Course under the name XXL Racing. They will be fielding a new bike after their last one burst into flames in a recent TTXGP race.

Team Moto Electra and Thad Wolff will also be on the grid. These guys have lots of track time over the last 3 years of ebike racing and have had some very strong finishes.

There are also some familiar names battling in the TTX75 Class. See the full grid below.

Vote for your favorite to win here.

Best of luck to everyone racing. I wish I could be there!

# Rider Nat. Machine Team Class
7 Manzano Marcellino SPA LGN Racing LGN Racing Team FIM/TTXGP
11 Czysz Michael USA MotoCzysz  E1pc MotoCzysz FIM/TTXGP
17 Rapp Steve USA Mission Mission Motors –  TTX FIM/TTXGP
18 Schless Ely USA Proto  Moto Pro Moto Racing – TTX TTX75
37 Wolff Thad USA Moto Electra Moto Electra – TTX FIM/TTXGP
48 Brannetti Alessandro ITA eCRP 1.4 CRP Racing FIM/TTXGP
49 Himmelmann Matthias GER Münch TTE Münch Racing Team FIM/TTXGP
58 Atlas Steve USA Brammo  Empulse Brammo Racing – TTX FIM/TTXGP
80 Barnes Michael USA Lightning Lightning Motorcycles – TTX FIM/TTXGP
88 Hannas Michael USA Lightning Lightning Motorcycles – TTX TTX75
96 Kluge Kenyon USA Zero S Zero Motorcycles – TTX TTX75
93 Moreda Shelina USA eCRP 1.4 CRP Racing FIM/TTXGP

Image Credit: Mission Motors

Be Sociable, Share!
Posted on July 22, 2011 at 10:39 am by John Adamo · Permalink
In: Racing, TTXGP · Tagged with: , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments via RSS

  1. Written by Rave
    on July 23, 2011 at 3:46 am

    I hope they will put some video on youtube.

  2. […] Laguna Seca TTXGP To Decide Fastest Electric Race Bike ©, . […]

Subscribe to comments via RSS