MÜNCH Racing Team Wins 2010 TTXGP World Championship

MÜNCH Racing Team and rider Matthias Himmelmann won the 2010 TTXGP World Championship today in Abacete, Spain. MÜNCH has a history of going big and doing things differently and their reincarnation in electric racing has paid off. Building on the 2009 TTXGP second place finishing XXL Racing bike, MÜNCH finished first. Alessandro Brannetti of CRP Racing took second and Jenny Tinmouth of Team Agni taking third. New comers / wild cards Team Zongshen and Chi-Fung Ho took fourth and look to have a promising 2011 ahead.

Congratulations to MÜNCH, TTXGP and all the TTXGP race teams!

See the TTXGP Press Release after the break.

TTXGP World Champions 2010: MÜNCH RACING

24th October 2010

All teams break sub 2 minutes per lap.
Incredible riding from Himmelmann and Brannetti pushing the edge every lap.
Turn by turn action with a thrilling climax and a 00:00.228 seconds difference to decide the champion

Electric Racing has a new world champion, Matthias Himmelmann wins the top crown for Munch Racing Team from Germany, beating of stiff competition from teams from Italy, UK, USA, Belgium, India, and China winning the zero carbon crown, making history and setting a high bar for any challengers in 2011. Despite beginning in pole and ending in first with the zero carbon powered Münch machine, but he was able to just hold off Alessandro Brannetti on the twin-Agni powered eCRP. While second place was a disappointment to the eCRP team, it was a miracle they even started, given the problems they’d had all weekend with the controllers on both bikes. Rounding off the podium was the TTXGP UK Champion, Jenny Tinmouth.

The differences in power, both in volts and kw/hrs between the three bikes was significant, yet this is also what has made this series so exciting. Teams have had the liberty to try practically whatever they can in order to win. Although the eCRP had much less power than the Münch, Brannetti was able to overtake Jenny Tinmouth after she passed him on the first lap. By lap 6, Branetti was leading, with Himmelmann gaining on him each time down the front straight, only to be denied on the entry to T1 by Brannetti’s late braking ability.

In the final lap, Himmelmann was able to draft Brannetti before the start/finish line for an easier lead down the front straight, creating a gap that Brannetti could not close before the end of the race.

The first Chinese factory team, Team Zongshen put in an impressive fourth and have set themselves up to be part of TTXGP 2011 with a strong platform to build from. Chi Fung Ho, a veteran racer from China showed tremendous skill in keeping Pete Ward and the Electric Hussars to a 5th place.

Morris Motorcycles followed the Mavizen of the Electric Hussars and came in 6th with Peter Linden showing the strongest ever finish for Morris. Morris have committed to return for 2011 with a brand new package and team to build from the success of 2010.
Rob Moon/Team Agni, Thomas Schurict/Münch Racing filled in 7th and 8th respectively.

Campus Francorchamps after a strong start, with the third fastest lap, suffered a mechanical failure in lap 7. With a motor blow out, Fastre came into the pits and essentially went out and finished the race on half power.

Jennifer Bromme of Team Werkstatt from the North American Championship finished 10th. She showed great improvement and went sub 2-minutes in lap 3.

Another team that suffered constant technical problems was Tork India. Despite winning the first ever round of the TTXGP UK Championship, they never really found their form. Antonio Maeso, started well with the 6th fastest laptime.

Alexey Ivanov from SMP Racing also suffered from an early technical failure during the warm ups and could not start.

The final results are:

TTXGP Final/UEM 2010 World Series Final (24/Oct/2010)
Albacete, Spain
Track length: 3593 meters

01…………..Münch Racing/Matthias Himmelmann
Best Lap: 01:43.871
Average speed over complete race: 120.8 km/h

02…………..CRP Racing/Alessandro Brannetti

03…………..Team Agni/Jenny Tinmouth

04…………..Team Zongshen/Chi-Fung Ho

05…………..Electric Hussar/Pete Ward

06…………..Morris Motorcycles Racing Team/Peter Lindén

07…………..Team Agni/Rob Moon

08…………..Münch Racing/Thomas Schuricht

09…………..Campus Francorchamps/Gregory Fastre
105.88 (minus 1 lap)

10…………..Werkstatt/Jennifer Bromme
103.35 (minus 1 lap)

11…………..Tork/Antonio Maeso
102.34 (minus 1 lap)

12…………..SMP Racing /Alexey Ivanov
DNS (retirement due to mechanical failure)

This was an incredible race to end an incredible first season for TTXGP.

As well as completing the TTXGP 2010 season, all our teams now become part shareholders in the TTXGP series as they are now invited to join the TTXGP TEO (trust.egrandprix.org/) the main representative body for TTXGP teams.

TTXGP 2011 is underway and with 110 teams registered for interest, the future looks bright.

Over the next few weeks we’ll be annoucing new tracks, the rules and calender for 2011. Stay tuned.

We reboot again for 2011 to continue bulding the next generation of motorsport.

Be Sociable, Share!
Posted on October 24, 2010 at 3:27 pm by John Adamo · Permalink
In: Racing, TTXGP · Tagged with: , , , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments via RSS

  1. Written by David Herron
    on October 25, 2010 at 2:09 am

    That 0.228 gap is in lap time. Elapsed time over the race, Munch won by 0.757 seconds – very very close. The next was Jenny Tinmouth on #77, 22.555 seconds later but the drive train was at 25% of theoretical potential (per Arvind). Munch Racing wins TTXGP 2010 world championship, closely followed by CRP Racing

  2. Written by Electric Motorcycles
    on November 2, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    Munch Racing Team is one of the my favorite team. I have seen their many videos and live matches.

  3. […] stunning eCRP 1.4 is running the proven dual Agni motor setup with Shelina Moreda in the saddle. 2010 TTXGP World Champions Munch Racing have a proven record of consistently strong finishes dating back to the 2009 TTXGP at […]

Subscribe to comments via RSS